Who We Are

ABOUT NORTHWEST COMPASS

Responding to an environment of dynamic and constantly changing socioeconomics continues to define and solidify Northwest Compass Inc.’s essential role in assisting people in meeting the challenges of having a safe environment for themselves and their families, from which they can create a path to a positive future.

OurMissionOUR MISSION

We enhance our community by providing emergency services, education and empowerment which foster personal responsibility for those who are vulnerable or in crisis.

OurVisionOUR VISION

We will continue to be an effective provider to those in crisis in the Northwest suburbs through the delivery of comprehensive services that help people when they need it the most. This vision will be achieved through a consortium of integrated community partnerships.

CoreValuesCORE VALUES

Cultural competency. Diversity is a valuable reality in our community, therefore staff, interns, and volunteers demonstrate such in their work with participants.
Organizational partnerships. Collaborative relationships with the community, public, and private industry partners assist families in overcoming barriers through coordinated services.
Mutually-agreeable goals. Cooperation between personnel and participants are essential to providing emergency services, education, and empowerment in order to foster personal responsibility.
Program excellence. Designing, aligning and continuously improving realistic program outcomes allows for our participants to succeed.
Accountability. Responsible productivity of our participants and staff will work together towards an overall goal and healthy interdependence.
Suspending judgment and demonstrating empathy. Open mindedness with our participants is treasured because active listening creates transformation.
Solution focused-motivational interviewing. Trained staff providing short term intervention assists participants in overcoming their immediate crisis by meeting them where they are.

TheBoard THE BOARD

Lorena Duenez – Attorney
Managing Attorney at Duenez Law, LLC
Treasurer

Brian Freiman – Attorney
Freiman Law
Board Chair, Executive Board

Rebecca J. Froman Freiman, MA, MT-BC
Director, Greater Chicago Music Therapy Inc.
Secretary

Steve Gootee
Vice president Village Bank
Fundraising Committee

Jennifer Hare
Speech-Language Pathologist
Alexian Brother Rehabilitation Hospital

Christopher Karsten
Consultant and Supply Chain Professional
VP Digital Supply Chain
Co-Chair, Finance Committee

Dustin Korbus
Project Designer
Revit Tech at WT Engineering
Vice Chair

Wayne T. Lofthouse – Attorney
Retired

Michele Petrie
President Village Bank & Trust and Wintrust Commercial
Fundraising Committee

George M. Sachs – Attorney
Law Office George M Sachs, P.C.

 

OurTeamOUR TEAM

Sonia Ivanov
Executive Director
​+1 847 305 2764
Email: sivanov@northwestcompass.org

Scott Devlin
Business Manager
+1 847 392 2344
Email: sdevlin@northwestcompass.org​​​​​

Anna Klimkowicz, LPC, MA
Program Manager, Housing Counseling & Assistance, & Transitional Living Program
+1 847 305 2038 ​
Email: aklimkowicz@northwestcompass.org

Jennie Cherry
Program Specialist, Housing Navigator
+1 847 637 0967
Email: jcherry@northwestcompass.org

(Maria) Rose Gomez
Program Specialist
​+1 847 637 0973
​​Email: mrgomez@northwestcompass.org

Erik Nelson
Street Outreach/Maintenance Technician II
+1 847 305 3584
+1 847 754 1446 (call or text)
Email: enelson@northwestcompass.org​​​​​

Patty Bannon
Volunteer Coordinator, Giving Back Volunteer Program​
+1 847 392 2344, Option 5​
Email: givingback@northwestcompass.org

Arthur McKay
IT Manager
+1 847 392 2344
Email: ITManager@northwestcompass.org

Wesley Tankson
Maintenance Technician I
+1 847 637 0974
Email: wtankson@northwestcompass.org

Sophie Hyde
System Navigator
+1 847 392 2344 ext.414
Email:shyde@northwestcompass.org

Alex Sunda
Housing Specialist
Email: asunda@northwestcompass.org

Zlatina Kostov 
Housing Specialist/Community Outreach
Email: zkostov@northwestcompass.org

Jennifer Rivera 
Youth Outreach Coordinator
Email: jrivera@northwestcompass.org

Michael McAndrews
Youth Outreach
Email: mcandrews@northwestcompass.org

Shelby van Hees
Housing Specialist
Email: svanhees@northwestcompass.org

Jenny Pawlik
Administrative Assistant/Community Outreach
Email: jpawlik@northwestcompass.org

Christine Babico
Housing Specialist

Email: cbabico@northwestcompass.org

Monika Stajniak
Housing Specialist

 

Virginia McAndrews
Housing Specialist/Career Coach
Email: vmcandrews@northwestcompass.org

Michelle Kremsreiter
Housing Specialist
Email: mkremsreiter@northwestcompass.org

NWC COMMUNITY

Every journey begins with a single step. Take the first step and visit us today to see how we help our neighbors in and around the Northwest suburbs o…



FOLLOW US on Youtube


Winds of Change
What is a Career in Digital Marketing?
As online school becomes the new norm, students still have to choose a career an

Read more
May 5 is global give Tuesday
Giving Tuesday Now - Please Support Northwest Compass More live

Read more
Website Hosting and Maintenance by Proceed Innovative