Who We Are

ABOUT NORTHWEST COMPASS

Responding to an environment of dynamic and constantly changing socioeconomics continues to define and solidify Northwest Compass Inc.’s essential role in assisting people in meeting the challenges of having a safe environment for themselves and their families, from which they can create a path to a positive future.

OurMissionOUR MISSION

We enhance our community by providing emergency services, education and empowerment which foster personal responsibility for those who are vulnerable or in crisis.

OurVisionOUR VISION

We will continue to be an effective provider to those in crisis in the Northwest suburbs through the delivery of comprehensive services that help people when they need it the most. This vision will be achieved through a consortium of integrated community partnerships.

CoreValuesCORE VALUES

Cultural competency. Diversity is a valuable reality in our community, therefore staff, interns, and volunteers demonstrate such in their work with participants.
Organizational partnerships. Collaborative relationships with the community, public, and private industry partners assist families in overcoming barriers through coordinated services.
Mutually-agreeable goals. Cooperation between personnel and participants are essential to providing emergency services, education, and empowerment in order to foster personal responsibility.
Program excellence. Designing, aligning and continuously improving realistic program outcomes allows for our participants to succeed.
Accountability. Responsible productivity of our participants and staff will work together towards an overall goal and healthy interdependence.
Suspending judgment and demonstrating empathy. Open mindedness with our participants is treasured because active listening creates transformation.
Solution focused-motivational interviewing. Trained staff providing short term intervention assists participants in overcoming their immediate crisis by meeting them where they are.

TheBoard THE BOARD

​Blaise J. Arena
Retired, Research Chemist and Project Manager, UOP-Honeywell.

Edwin J. Connelly lll
Retired, Commercial Banking Officer, Peoples’ Bank of Arlington Heights
Board Treasurer, Executive Board Chair, Operations and Finance Committee

​​Brian Freiman
Attorney, Freiman Law

Steve Lescohier
Retired, J.P. Morgan Chase Bank

Wayne T. Lofthouse
Attorney, Wayne T. Lofthouse, P.C.
Board Secretary, Executive Board

Michael Mantel
Retired, Project Manager and Management Consultant
Board Chair, Executive Board

George J. Wingerter III
Retired, Certified Management Consultant Emeritus
Member of the Board of Directors

OurTeamOUR TEAM
Sonia Ivanov
Executive Director
​+1 847 305 2764
Email: sivanov@northwestcompass.org

Penny Regan
Volunteer Coordinator, Giving Back Volunteer Program​
+1 847 392 2344, Option 5​
Email: givingback@northwestcompass.org

Barbara Naunheimer, CPA
Accountant
​+1 847 305 2614
​Email: bnaunheimer@northwestcompass.org

Arthur McKay
IT Manager
+1 847 392 2344
Email: ITManager@northwestcompass.org

Wesley Tankson
Maintenance Technician I
+1 847 637 0974
Email: wtankson@northwestcompass.org

Sarah Buckley
Program Specialist
+1 847 392 2344 ext.414
Email:sbuckley@northwestcompass.org

Anna Klimkowicz, LPC, MA
Program Manager, Housing Counseling & Assistance, & Transitional Living Program
​+1 847 305 2038 ​
​Email: aklimkowicz@northwestcompass.org

Jennie Cherry
Program Specialist, Housing Navigator
+1 847 637 0967
Email: jcherry@northwestcompass.org

(Maria) Rose Gomez
Program Specialist
​+1 847 637 0973
​​Email: mrgomez@northwestcompass.org

Julia Alfano
Program Specialist
Email: jalfano@northwestcompass.org

Marcos Cabral
Program Specialist
+1 847 392 2344 ext.428
Email: mcabral@northwestcompass.org

Erik Nelson
Street Outreach/Maintenance Technician II
+1 847 305 3584
+1 847 754 1446 (call or text)
Email: enelson@northwestcompass.org​​​​​

Scott Devlin
Business Manager
+1 847 392 2344
Email: sdevlin@northwestcompass.org​​​​​

NWC COMMUNITY

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: An access token is required to request this resource.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 104
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK

Every journey begins with a single step. Take the first step and visit us today to see how we help our neighbors in and around the Northwest suburbs o…



FOLLOW US on Youtube


Winds of Change
HYPE Helps Homeless Teen
While some of us might shudder to think about our awkward teen years, most of us

Read more
Meet Penny: New Volunteer Coordinator
Ask anyone what makes Northwest Compass such a special place and you'll likely h

Read more
Website Design, Build & Hosting by