Who We Are


Responding to an environment of dynamic and constantly changing socioeconomics continues to define and solidify Northwest Compass Inc.’s essential role in assisting people in meeting the challenges of having a safe environment for themselves and their families, from which they can create a path to a positive future.


We enhance our community by providing emergency services, education and empowerment which foster personal responsibility for those who are vulnerable or in crisis.


We will continue to be an effective provider to those in crisis in the Northwest suburbs through the delivery of comprehensive services that help people when they need it the most. This vision will be achieved through a consortium of integrated community partnerships.


Cultural competency. Diversity is a valuable reality in our community, therefore staff, interns, and volunteers demonstrate such in their work with participants.
Organizational partnerships. Collaborative relationships with the community, public, and private industry partners assist families in overcoming barriers through coordinated services.
Mutually-agreeable goals. Cooperation between personnel and participants are essential to providing emergency services, education, and empowerment in order to foster personal responsibility.
Program excellence. Designing, aligning and continuously improving realistic program outcomes allows for our participants to succeed.
Accountability. Responsible productivity of our participants and staff will work together towards an overall goal and healthy interdependence.
Suspending judgment and demonstrating empathy. Open mindedness with our participants is treasured because active listening creates transformation.
Solution focused-motivational interviewing. Trained staff providing short term intervention assists participants in overcoming their immediate crisis by meeting them where they are.

Edwin J. Connelly lll
Retired, Commercial Banking Officer, Peoples’ Bank of Arlington Heights
Board Treasurer, Executive Board
Chair, Operations and Finance Committee

​William Doucette, PhD.
Vice President, Human Resources, Alera Group, Inc.
Chairman, Executive Board
Chair, Personnel Committee

Wayne T. Lofthouse
Attorney, Wayne T. Lofthouse, P.C.
Board Secretary, Executive Board

Fredia J. Martin
Director of Alumni Relations and Special Events, Harper College
Member At-Large

​​Allen C. McClellan
Retired, IBM Corporation
Executive Board, At-Large

​Mary Ellen Ottenstein
Marketing & Design Professional, MEOGraphics
Member At-Large​

Marcy Traxler
AVP, Business Development, Alexian Brothers Health System
Executive Board, At-Large

Susan Tybon, MA
Executive Director
​+1 224 324 3235
​​Email: stybon@northwestcompass.org

Penny Regan
Volunteer Coordinator, Giving Back Volunteer Program​
+1 847 392 2344, Option 5​
Email: givingback@northwestcompass.org

Donna Ballard-Roth
Program Director, Legacy Corps
+1 815 404 3673
Email: dballard@northwestcompass.org

Diane Blanks
Chicago Area Site Manager, Legacy Corps
+1 847 293 0728​​​
Email: dblanks@northwestcompass.org

Albert Romero
Program Officer, Legacy Corps
+1 224 201 5899
Email: aromero@northwestcompass.org​​​​

Barbara Naunheimer, CPA
​+1 847 305 2614
​Email: bnaunheimer@northwestcompass.org

Arthur McKay
IT Manager
+1 847 392 2344
Email: ITManager@northwestcompass.org

Wesley Tankson
Maintenance Technician I
+1 847 637 0974
Email: wtankson@northwestcompass.org

Sonia Ivanov
Managing Director, Program Delivery
​+1 847 305 2764
​Email: sivanov@northwestcompass.org

Anna Klimkowicz, LPC, MA
Program Manager, Housing Counseling & Assistance, & Transitional Living Program
​+1 847 305 2038 ​
​Email: aklimkowicz@northwestcompass.org

Jennie Cherry
Program Specialist, Housing Navigator
+1 847 637 0967
Email: jcherry@northwestcompass.org

(Maria) Rose Gomez
Program Specialist
​+1 847 637 0973
​​Email: mrgomez@northwestcompass.org

Erik Nelson
Street Outreach/Maintenance Technician II
+1 847 305 3584
+1 847 754 1446 (call or text)
Email: enelson@northwestcompass.org​​​​​

Contact Hosted Program Staff Directly:
Andrea DeBerry
​+1 312 448 1861
Email: adeberry@cedaorg.net

Luz E. Avila
+1 312 285 6446
Email: lavila@cedaorg.net

Home Office
2010 Dewey Avenue, Evanston
​+1 847 328 5166 X5416

Woman, Infants & Children (WIC)
​+1 224 324 3848


    LinkedIn Company Updates

  • 14 Days AgoView on LinkedIn

    Northwest Compass

    Our friends and neighbors at DKM&O Law in Arlington Heights lost big to raise money for Northwest Compass Food Connection. We cannot thank you enough, and special thanks to partner, Thomas W. Kivlahan, for organizing the contest and donation! https://lnkd.in/dzGbHjP


Every journey begins with a single step. Take the first step and visit us today to see how we help our neighbors in and around the Northwest suburbs o…

FOLLOW US on Youtube

Winds of Change
HYPE Helps Homeless Teen
While some of us might shudder to think about our awkward teen years, most of us

Read more
Meet Penny: New Volunteer Coordinator
Ask anyone what makes Northwest Compass such a special place and you'll likely h

Read more
Website Design, Build & Hosting by